jump to navigation

Me & Tarpon March 24, 2006

Posted by Kim in Fishing, Old Photos.
trackback

I guess I will post a few more old photos while I become more familiar with this Bloging thing. This one, as I recall, was taken around 1957 while we were vacationing on Indian Rocks Beach, FL… something we did almost every year back than. I was fishing just offshore on this calm summer morning when a tarpon took the pinfish I had suspended about 3 feet below a bobber. I was using light tackle intending to release any Tarpon I might catch. I learned that day, however, that the long, protracted fight often required to catch a large fish on light tackle can kill the fish anyway… as it did here. That’s me holding the fish. I was really unhappy about killing such a beautiful fish especially one that isn't even eatable. I did make an attempt to revive it but to no avail.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

